On The Road: advancing trans and gender diverse depathologization

UN Trans Advocacy Week 2020 Webinar

On the road: advancing trans and gender diverse depathologization

Thursday 25 June, 2pm CEST (English) / 7pm CEST (Spanish)

One year ago, the World Health Assembly approved the eleventh version of the International Classification of Diseases (ICD-11). After more than 10 years of political mobilization, all categories related to trans and gender diverse people were removed from the chapter on mental disorders.

Although this is a historic achievement, there are still key issues to address on the road to full depathologization, including the new category of “gender incongruence” in the ICD-11, the challenges posed by legal pathologization at the country level, and the anti-gender movements who promote re-pathologization in their battle against what they call “gender ideology.”

Moreover, current challenges faced by trans and gender diverse people around the world in relation to COVID-19 show that the persistence of pathologization is not only grounded in pervasive institutional cissexism; it is also deeply linked to racial and socioeconomic injustice. Global and collective initiatives to resist, confront, and dismantle pathologization are more needed today than ever.

To address these issues, and in the context of Trans Advocacy Week 2020, we invite you to join this webinar to be held on:

Thursday, 25 June at 2 pm CEST / 8 am EDT (English)

Thursday, 25 June at 7 pm CEST / 1 pm EDT (Spanish)

Facilitator: Mauro Cabral Grinspan (GATE)

On The Road: advancing trans and gender diverse depathologization
Scroll to top