WEBINAR: World AIDS Day – Trans Inclusion in HIV National Strategic Plans

In every country with available data, trans populations are among the most at risk groups for HIV. Despite this, trans populations are frequently excluded from national data-collection efforts and/or are unacknowledged as priority populations by national governments in their HIV responses. As a result, meaningful inclusion of trans people in National Strategic Plans (NSPs) is rare and this exclusion continues to contribute to poor HIV-related health outcomes and to comparatively low levels of trans-specific funding and programming.

GATE and amfAR will present a systematic review of HIV NSPs from 60 countries, followed by a presentation of the Best Practice Guidelines to increase the meaningful engagement of trans people in NSP development. We will be joined by speakers from UNAIDS, the Global Fund and a trans community representative to discuss the importance of trans inclusion in NSPs in order to reach populations most at risk of HIV and to ultimately achieve country-level epidemic control.

Speakers:

  • Erika Castellanos, Director of Programs, GATE
  • Jennifer Sherwood, Public Policy Manager, amfAR, The Foundation for AIDS Research
  • Elise Lankiewicz, Project Coordinator, amfAR, The Foundation for AIDS Research
  • Cleiton Euzebio de Lima, Senior Adviser – Civil Society Networking, UNAIDS
  • Ed Ngoksin, Technical Advisor – Key Populations, Community Rights and Gender Department, The Global Fund
  • Jay Mulucha, Executive Director, Fem Alliance Uganda

Date: 1 December 2021

Time: 7am PT | 10am ET | 4pm CET (1 hour duration)

Languages: English

WEBINAR: World AIDS Day – Trans Inclusion in HIV National Strategic Plans
Scroll to top